Hello There, Guest!
View New Posts  |  View Today's Posts
[SOLVED] dvd::rip error: Job 'Read TOC (lsdvd)' failed

  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average


05-18-2012, 05:40 PM #1
KoBE
¯\_(ツ)_/¯
******
Global Moderators
Posts: 4,862 Threads:494 Joined: Jun 2011 Reputation: 67

dvd::rip error: Job 'Read TOC (lsdvd)' failed
I was messing around with dvd::rip today to see if it was better than acidrip. Needless to say it didn't want to work for me when I tried. I kept getting errors like "dvd::rip Failed to mount DVD at yadda yadda"

Well, after a quick google everything was talking about changing fstab.. stuff like that, but that wasn't really my problem. I tried a few things, close/reopen the application. Nope. Close the program, umount the drive, then reopen the application... winner winner!

So, if anyone happens to run into this problem. I hope to have saved you some time. Try umount first. :D
This post was last modified: 05-18-2012, 05:42 PM by KoBE.

05-18-2012, 06:32 PM #2
Shintaro
Member
**
Posts: 248 Threads:58 Joined: Jan 2012 Reputation: 8

RE: dvd::rip error: Job 'Read TOC (lsdvd)' failed
Thanks for the tip.

What an annoying fault though.


Just a quick couple of questions mate,
Did you have all the updates for Linux Mint installed (I presume you are using mint)?
What version of dvd::rip was it?
Are you running Linux in a Virtual machine or on actual hardware?
Thoughts create realities.


To be old and wise,
You must first be young and stupid.

Try to live an ordinary life,
in a non-ordinary way.

05-18-2012, 11:48 PM #3
KoBE
¯\_(ツ)_/¯
******
Global Moderators
Posts: 4,862 Threads:494 Joined: Jun 2011 Reputation: 67

RE: dvd::rip error: Job 'Read TOC (lsdvd)' failed
[x] LInux Mint
[x] All updates
[x] HDD

Version of dvd::rip is 0.98.11 (downloaded from software manager)

I ran into another problem though, after getting the rip process started. It doesn't like to finish the whole thing. It stops and says there might be a problem with the disk or a lib (can't remember off the top of my head. So I may try to un/reinstall or perhaps update that lib aside from software manager.
This post was last modified: 05-18-2012, 11:49 PM by KoBE.




Forum Jump:



Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)